The goal of the project DONAUHANSE is to establish a network of cities, which provides sound solutions to similar problems with the greatest possible benefit for all participating cities and regions along the Danube.

EU-Danube Strategy: Six New Scientific Clusters to Support Development of the Region

06.06.2013 | EU Strategy for the Danube Region

During a high-level meeting in Bratislava on May 16, 2013, the European Commission, in co-operation with scientists and policy makers from the 14 Danube Region countries, has launched six scientific clusters to further the economic development of the Danube region as part of the European Union’s Danube Strategy.

The launch event was attended by the Slovak Prime Minister H.E. Robert Fico, and the Vice President of the European Commission, Maroš Šef?ovi?. Karlheinz Töchterle, Austria’s Minister of Science, was also present.

According to information by the European Commission, „the water, land & soil, bio-energy and air clusters will look at these key resources in relation to identified needs: environmental protection, irrigation & agricultural development and energy. The data cluster is meant to facilitate the exchange and harmonisation of clear and comparable data in areas such as biodiversity, river morphology, flood and drought risks, soils, crops or energy resources and potential. It will also set up a common data access point for the whole region - the first operational version should be available by December this year. The smart specialisation cluster will study how to concentrate resources on key scientific priorities based on the economic potential of the Danube region rather than spreading efforts and investment too thinly.“

„The clusters will bring together the scientific community from the 14 Danube countries, involving most of the Academies of science in the region, the Danube Rectors Conference (which involves 54 universities) and many other research organisations. The partners will take part in the cluster(s) of their choice, according to their priorities and expertise. Participation remains open to other interested parties.“

These clusters are meant to encourage a better uptake of scientific results in policy-making in the future.

The 14 countries in the Danube Region, which is home to over 100 million people, are: Germany, Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Ukraine and Moldova.

European Commission press release IP/13/440

European Commission MEMO/13/441: Scientific support to the Danube Strategy

EU-Strategy for the Danube Region

Bratislava (SK) - 16/05/13; Scientific Support to the Danube Strategy - High-level event co-organised by the European Commission and the Government of the Slovak Republic